Follow

Folder Access System

Folder Access System

The Folder Access system is designed not to replace the Folder Sharing system, but to be an alternative option for clients, depending on their business processes and data flow. In some instances, Folder Sharing and Folder Access might be used to supplement and complement one another.

 

Unlike Folder Sharing, where data visibility and access are facilitated by sharing the folder contents in one eCoordinator account to a folder in a separate eCoordinator account, Folder Access uses only a single eCoordinator account. In other words, instead of multiple eCoordinator users logging in to multiple accounts, with each account containing different data (see fig. 1), Folder Access has those same multiple eCoordinator users logging in to a single account that contains all of the data. The beauty in this solution is that each login has access only to certain folders (defined in AMS), and can therefore access only the data that is pertinent to the individual (see fig. 2), much like logging in to a separate eCoordinator account altogether.

 

Folder Sharing Model (fig. 1):

eCoordinator accounts A, B and C are all being folder shared to the Central Account folders "Account A," "Account B," and "Account C," respectively. Four eCoordinator accounts in total.

Folder Access Model (fig. 2):

As you can see from the account titles on all four eCoordinator grid screenshots, all users are accessing the same "Central Account" eCoordinator account. The difference is in the folders that they are able to see, and therefore, the profiles that they will be able to access. One eCoordinator account in total.

System Folders and Folder Sharing:

As depicted in fig. 2 above, in addition to the respective folder (A, B or C), the eCoordinator users also have access to the system folders: All Data, My Data, Inbox, *Website, and Recycle Bin. AMS users may also restrict access and visibility of these folders as well. It is possible for an eCoordinator user to login to the system and see only one folder, although another user accessing the same account could see all folders. This feature is controlled from AMS> Users> Folder Access tab, as shown below:

Deleting and Restoring Records:

When a user deletes a profile, it is only deleted from the folders that he has access to. When a user views the contents of the Recycle Bin, he only sees those profiles that have been deleted from folders that he has permission to see.

 

When he selects a profile and clicks "Restore," he sees a list of the folders (with checkboxes) that he has access to, and selects which folder(s) he wants to restore the profile to. The folders that contained the profile when it was deleted are already selected for convenience.

 

 

Restoring Records (fig. 3):

In fig. 3, you can tell that the profile that is being restored previously existed in the "My Data" folder. Clicking "Restore" will remove the profile from the Recycle Bin and restore to My Data. Clicking "Cancel" makes no changes; the profile will stay in the Recycle Bin.

Extend Geographic Area Sharing to Accommodate Folder Permissions:

eRecruiter 6.5 introduced Geographic Area Sharing, which is when a volunteer registers for the first time and selects a geographic area, eRecruiter can share that volunteer's profile to another eCoordinator account as defined in AMS> Attributes> Geographic Area.

 

With the introduction of folder sharing, all eCoordinator users will be operating in the same account, and not all users may have access to the Inbox. Therefore, eRecruiter 6.9.2 extends this ability to designate to folders within accounts.

 

Extending Record Sharing for Folder Access:

This feature introduced with version 6.9.2 has taken existing account sharing functionality and extended it to include the ability to specify folders within accounts. In this case, however, it is with Record Sharing, i.e., sharing by using the "Share" function button in eCoordinator.

 

Instead of simply listing eCoordinator account titles in the Address Book and Recipient list, these two lists now include account name and folder name separated by a backslash "", like this:

 

[Account Name][Folder Name]

Strict Folder Access Option:

A "Strict Folder Access" option checkbox has been added to the AMS> Folders tab.

 

When this option is not enabled, the behavior with respect to newly created folders and folder deletion is the same as in eCoordinator versions 6.9.1 and newer, specifically:

When an eCoordinator user creates a folder, all eCoordinator users of same account have permission view and access the folder.
When an AMS user creates a folder, all eCoordinator users of the same account have permission to view and access the folder.
Any eCoordinator user that has the Folder Manager Delete menu item enabled and has access to a folder can delete a folder.

 

When this option is enabled then:

When an eCoordinator user creates a folder, he is the only user that has access to that folder until an AMS user assigns permissions for the folder to other users.
An eCoordinator user can delete only those folders that he/she //alone// has access to.
Folders that are accessible by multiple eC users must be deleted by an AMS user.
By default, this option is disabled for all accounts created with eCoordinator 6.9.1 or earlier.
By default, this option should be enabled for all eCoordinator accounts created with eCoordinator 6.9.2 or later.

 

Contact Samaritan Client Services if you have further questions at 1-888-904-6060.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk